Jefferson and Shelby Counties Approved for Disaster Aid

Eight counties that sustained damage from the March 25th tornadoes are now approved for federal aid, officials announced Monday. The assistance from FEMA includes grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs, the White House said. The president's disaster declaration makes this aid available to residents of the following counties: Jefferson, Shelby, Bibb, Calhoun, Clay, Hale, Perry, and Randolph.

"Alabama knows all too well the devastating effects severe weather can have, but we always rebuild back stronger," Gov. Kay Ivey said. "I saw firsthand some of the damage from the March 25 tornadoes and after the local assessment came in, I sent a request to the president and FEMA so that we could get the deserved additional aid for our people. We have been working diligently to get this done, and I am pleased that Alabama will see additional help. I encourage individuals in these eligible counties to take advantage of this assistance offered by the federal government," Ivey said.

You can register online at: or call 1-800-621-FEMA.

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content